“You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.”
~Inigo Montoya (The Princess Bride)

So according to this article, I’ve been misusing the majority of these words, quite blissfully and with total ignorance of the fact. However, when I consider that my instances of blatant disregard for the official definitions of these words have been generally understood as I intended, does that still qualify as misuse?

If the raison d’être of words is to be used to get one’s point across, then having accomplished that, the words have served their purpose. I mean, all words were made up by somebody and assigned a meaning, were they not?

If the article is even remotely accurate, then I’m pretty confident in thinking I’m probably not in the minority when it comes to this specific list. Maybe these particular words were just…in need of a little redefining.

